Events

Aviation Nation

Today I spent the day down at Nellis Air Force Base in Las Vegas, NV. I got to have a daddy-daughter day with my father who LOVED IT. As you know, I have a boyfriend in the Air Force and he is stationed here. He actually worked the event so I got to see him a few times. This event was so many things all rolled into one.

This Air Show was historic. It marks the 70th anniversary of the Air Force and the show was spectacular! Let me tell you- my ears are STILL ringing. Even though I knew pretty much nothing going into the military world with my boyfriend, I felt like I was a part of something at this show. One thing that many people don’t realize is that the military men and women loveeee showing off their toys. I walked around and talked to war vets and fighter pilots. I got to hear stories of their flying days. It was so incredibly heartwarming.

Thus Air Show was a time for family. As I was walking around the base all I could see were little girls holding their dad’s hand or little boys with their toy airplane in hand. I saw a town come together to have a good time and to watch the awe-inspiring performance that the base put on for us. I walked around looking at all the planes and listening to my father tell stories about his dad. I never met my grandpa because he died before I was even born and I never knew much about him either. Today was the first time that I heard he was a pilot. My dad was telling me storied about himself as a kid and his dad being part of the Civil Air Patrol. It was nice to hear all of those stories about my family that I never knew.

Now that I am going to be part of the military family, I had a new appreciation of today. If you have any pictures or stories from your airshow, let me know!

Leave a comment